Early Years Foundation Stage

In Little Acorns the children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage. Staff plan learning experiences and activities that are playful and cross curricular.  The classrooms are resourced with provision areas (eg. sand, water, roleplay) which the children access independently throughout the day. These areas are regularly enhanced in response to current curriculum themes and to children's interests. The children also access outdoor play sessions everyday - whatever the weather!

In EYFS, there are seven areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Development

Your child's learning and development will be assessed against age related expectations in the seven areas of learning throughout EYFS. At the end of Reception Class, the children will be assessed on the statutory EYFS Profile. Observations of children's independent application of knowledge and skills are the basis for these assessments. 

For more information about the EYFS framework click here