Key Stage 1 

In  Saplings and Great Oaks the children follow the National Curriculum. 

The National Curriculum includes:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Computing
  • Art
  • History
  • Geography
  • Design and Technology
  • Music
  • PE (Physical Education)
  • PHSE (Personal, Social and Health Education)

The children have English and Maths mornings where as well as adult directed teaching sessions they complete a variety of tasks independently linked to the main teaching focus.


Learning and development (in Reading, Writing and Maths) is currently assessed against National Curriculum levels throughout KS1 and children take part in SATs test at the end of Year 2.


For more information about the National Curriculum  click here